What I Know About Health and Wellness

Standard

What do fruits, vegetables, exercise, racism, wealth, and location all have in common? (Jeopardy Music) The answer is your health! In my English class, we are conducting a study of health and wellness in Robeson, Scotland, and Hoke counties. Since I am not from any of these counties, my intelligence of health and wellness here is slim. I do remember in my Freshman Seminar class, we had a nurse in as a guest speaker. She came in to talk about sexually transmitted diseases and I remember her saying that Robeson County was one of the top ranked counties for STDs. As of any other health concerns, I draw a blank. I would like to find out some more information about these three counties. How do these counties rank with the other counties in North Carolina? What is the poverty rate? How do these three counties compare with each other? With the videos I have been watching and the articles I have been reading, I have increased my knowledge about health and wellness in the United States. I learned that how much money you make, where you live, if you have experienced racism, and your education level dramatically affects a person’s health, which is crazy. Who would have guessed that your health doesn’t just depend on eating fruits and vegetables and exercising like crazy?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Shocking Website « ithrow

Leave a Reply

