Proposal

Standard

I wanted to do my Portfolio 2 on something that interested me. My major in college is Elementary Education with a Concentration in Math and a Minor in Athletic Coaching, so I knew from the beginning that I wanted to do something with kids and sports. While doing my interview, my interviewee talked about childhood obesity and how it is a serious health issue in the community he lives in. Childhood obesity is a problem worth addressing because there is a greater chance that those poor health habits will carry on into adulthood, if not changed.  It can also greatly affect ones health in the long run, if the person doesn’t get any physical activity. It is harder to break a habit if one has been doing it for a long time, so If there is a way to change the bad habit at a young age, it will benefit the person in their later years. I am a strong believer that being part of a sport’s team is one of the easiest ways to get active and stay healthy. You have to practice every day, workout in the weight room, and then go to competitions. It is more fun to play sports then do tedious and boring workouts every day. My research question is, can playing sports at a young age help prevent childhood obesity? This affects me personally because I will become an educator and a coach someday and I would like to be well educated on this topic.  I don’t know much about childhood obesity, except the fact that it is a growing issue and that the number of children that are obese is increasing at a fast rate. With the sports part, I know a lot since I am part of a sport’s team here at UNCP and I have been playing sports for as long as I can remember. I want to find out the following: What specific ages will I be researching? What do elementary school students want to do for physical activity? Would they rather play a sport or run around? How many young kids play sports? How much recess time do they get in school? How much should they be getting? How much physical activity do the kids get outside of school? These are the only questions I can generate as of right now, but I know when I start researching, I will have numerous questions. I want to research books in the library and I would love to find articles or books written by Dr. Oz, Oprah, and Mrs. Obama because I know she is really on top of this issue. I always see her doing some type of preventing childhood obesity event and commercials. I also know that professional athletes are big on getting physical activity along with the boys and girls club. Keywords that I will research are childhood obesity, sports, and physical activity. While doing some research online I will be looking for government and organization sites that are credible. I am mainly going to look for articles and books using the library resources on BraveCat. I can’t wait till I start researching this topic! 🙂

One response »

  1. I love your question: Can playing sports at a young age help prevent childhood obesity. I would love to read your research paper when you are done. Darlene

Leave a Reply

